很少有公司像戴森电器有限公司那样以其高产的创新而闻名。这家英国技术公司在提供家用和商用产品方面取得了巨大的成功,这些产品以前已经以某种形式出现了几十年,包括吸尘器,干手机,吹风机,风扇和加热器。但是,与许多戴森公司的竞争对手不同,戴森公司不仅看到了他人看不见的改进机会,而且还通过有效地授予其发明专利权和执行权来保持对其卓越技术的垄断。由串行发明者James Dyson创立的Dyson Appliances Ltd.凭借其DA 001真空吸尘器赢得了最早的商业成功,该真空吸尘器是Dyson的第一款利用其获得专利的双旋风技术的无尘袋式真空吸尘器。成立15年以来,5,127原型已经不止一次,DA 001的成功很难获得。当1999成功地对最大的竞争对手胡佛(Hoover)行使专利权,并巩固了其在市场上的主导地位时,公司的努力最终得到了1999的肯定。戴森现已被列为数百项USPTO专利和专利申请的受让人。调查该公司的USPTO专利组合,其 82.7%的补贴率本身就令人印象深刻。但是,考虑到他们每项专利申请收到的平均 1.7个办公室诉讼以及平均不到38个月的专利起诉期,人们可能会很快得出结论,戴森在起诉他们的专利申请方面同样谨慎设计他们的产品。

专利组合过滤

对于像戴森这样的公司而言,要同时管理如此多的专利申请并不容易。没有适当的系统来确保有效的专利起诉,起诉任何单个专利申请所涉及的费用或时间可能超过专利的价值。专利起诉统计数据表明,戴森擅长跟踪未决专利申请并在不产生太多费用之前减少不可行专利申请的损失。

一个。专利组合明细

使用 LexisNexisPatentAdvisor® 组合管理工具,我们已经在Dyson专利组合中汇编了USPTO专利和专利申请的数字公文包。如下所示,PatentAdvisor™允许用户快速查看其在USPTO提交的专利申请的状态。

b。专利申请中

使用PatentAdvisor™过滤器,我们可以清楚地确定和可视化USPTO之前正在申请的专利数量。如图所示,Dyson迄今为止有196项待审专利申请。

专利起诉绩效指标

一个。专利起诉时间

确定有多少USPTO专利申请正在审理中,这只是管理专利组合的第一步。然后,PatentAdvisor™用户可以根据各种可能引起危险的起诉事件来过滤专利申请。例如,在专利申请中拖延了很长一段时间的专利申请通常与超额费用相关。下面我们将Dyson的196专利申请范围缩小到两年以上的103申请。

 

b。办公室行动次数

PatentAdvisor用户可以使用过滤器层从不同角度评估其专利组合的运行状况。下面,我们进一步缩小了待审申请的范围,使其仅包括那些已被两个或两个以上的商标局起诉的专利申请。专利申请通常会使专利申请人每个花费$ 3,000,因此专利申请号可以帮助总体起诉费用的指标。

C。考官津贴率和预计到达时间

专利组合管理者可能会对确定USPTO专利审查员授予每个专利申请的机会感兴趣。每个申请的指派专利审查员都有一个历史配额率(他们所发布的专利申请的百分比),可以表明未决申请获得成功的机会。或者,PatentAdvisor用户可以选择使用与起诉成功最密切相关的专利指标,即PatentAdvisor ETA™,这是一种性能指标,除了允许影响专利起诉绩效的其他几个因素外,还考虑了许可率。

 

 

使用几种不同的专利指标对专利组合进行过滤和可视化后,PatentAdvisor用户可以通过在可视预览中单击应用程序来更深入地研究任何单个专利申请的专利统计数据。 PatentAdvisor组合工具可帮助用户评估其待审申请的运行状况,并挑选出性能不佳的申请,以便他们保持干净,高效,类似于戴森的专利组合。

Better Strategic Decisions PatentAdvisor CTA

Few companies are as well known for their prolific innovation as Dyson Appliances Ltd. The British technology company has been wildly successful in providing household and commercial products that had previously been around in some form for decades, including vacuum cleaners, hand dryers, hair dryers, fans, and heaters. Unlike many Dyson competitors, however, Dyson stands out for both seeing opportunities for improvement that are invisible to others, and for maintaining a monopoly over their superior technology by effectively patenting their inventions and enforcing their rights. Founded by serial inventor James Dyson, Dyson Appliances Ltd. earned their earliest notable commercial success with its DA 001 vacuum – Dyson’s first bagless, vacuum cleaner utilizing its patented dual-cyclone technology. Fifteen years and more than 5,127 prototypes after its inception, the success of the DA 001 was hard earned. The company’s hard work was eventually affirmed in 1999 when they successfully enforced their patent against their biggest rival, Hoover, and secured their position as a dominant player in the market. Dyson is now listed as assignee for hundreds of USPTO patents and patent applications. Looking into the company’s USPTO patent portfolio, their 82.7 percent allowance rate stands out as being impressive on its own. But, also taking into consideration their average of 1.7 office actions received per patent application and average patent prosecution period of just less than 38 months, one may quickly conclude that Dyson is just as meticulous with prosecuting their patent applications as they are with designing their products.

Patent Portfolio Filtering

It is not easy for companies like Dyson to manage so many patent applications simultaneously. Without systems in place to ensure efficient patent prosecution, the expense or time involved in prosecuting any single patent application can exceed the patent’s value. Patent prosecution statistics suggest that Dyson excels at tracking their pending patent applications and cutting their losses on unviable patent applications before they incur too much expense.

a. Patent Portfolio Breakdowns

Using LexisNexis PatentAdvisor® portfolio management tools, we have compiled a digital briefcase of the USPTO patents and patent applications in the Dyson patent portfolio. Shown below, PatentAdvisor™ allows users to visualize the status of their USPTO-filed patent applications quickly.

b. Pending Patent Applications

Using PatentAdvisor™ filters, we can clearly determine and visualize the number of patent applications that are currently pending before the USPTO. As shown, Dyson has 196 pending patent applications to date.

Patent Prosecution Performance Indicators

a. Time In Patent Prosecution

Determining how many USPTO patent applications are pending is only step one for managing a patent portfolio. PatentAdvisor™ users can then filter patent applications according to a wide selection of prosecution events that could serve as red flags. For example, patent applications that linger in prosecution for an unusually long period of time are often correlated with excessive expense. Below we have narrowed the 196 pending patent applications for Dyson down to 103 applications that have been pending for over two years.

 

b. Number of Office Actions

PatentAdvisor users can use layers of filters to assess their patent portfolio’s health from different angles. Below we have further narrowed the pending applications to include only those patent applications that have been issued two or more office actions. Office actions typically cost patent applicants around $3,000 each, so office action numbers can help indicators of overall prosecution expense.

c. Examiner Allowance Rate and ETA

Patent portfolio managers may be interested in determining each patent application’s chances of being granted by a USPTO patent examiner. Each application’s assigned patent examiner has a historical allowance rate (the percentage of patent applications they issue) that could indicate a pending application’s chances of success. Alternatively, PatentAdvisor users may choose to utilize the patent metric that is most strongly correlated with prosecution success, PatentAdvisor ETA™, a performance metric that incorporates allowance rate in addition to several other factors that also affect patent prosecution performance.

 

 

After filtering and visualizing their patent portfolios using several different patent metrics, PatentAdvisor users can dive deeper into the patent statistics of any single patent application by just clicking on the application in a visual preview. PatentAdvisor portfolio tools help users assess the health of their pending applications and to single out poorly performing applications so that they maintain a clean, efficient, Dyson-like patent portfolio.

Better Strategic Decisions PatentAdvisor CTA

Related Content

Nintendo Patents for Improving Quality of Life Who would have thought that waking up to Nintendo could be good for you? We will have to continue waiting patiently for the scientific communit...
Webinar: How Law Librarians Can Add Value to the Patent Prosecution Process What you’ll learn in this webinar: THE PATENT PROSECUTION PROCESS A high level overview of the process and the most important decision points U...
Webinar: Engineering Patent Applications to Avoid Alice Increase your odds of a favorable patent prosecution. With some effort and planning it is possible to direct a patent application to a more likely fa...
[if lte IE 8]
[if lte IE 8]

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Cookie Policy

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.

Close