机器学习专利的IP格局

六月 23, 2020

机器学习的IP景观

什么是IP景观?

知识产权格局是对任何技术领域中当前专利和实践的全面概述。通过提供参考,文档和整体视图,知识产权格局可以显示出法律效力的潜力,并为未开发产品的设计和生产提供战略依据。简而言之,专利态势是您关注领域中所有竞争以及该领域当前关系的地图。

专利格局可以提供竞争性分析,并发现当前市场中的“空白”,机会或未填补的空白。在产品开发的早期阶段查看适用的情况可以发现竞争对手的弱点,您拥有的优势以及您不想挑战的据点或关键参与者。对现有场景的详细检查可以洞悉您的产品与众不同之处,建立有针对性的营销方式并与投资者进行透明的沟通。这项研究还可以揭示哪些方法被证明是有价值的,哪些策略需要调整,从而使您免于已知的错误。有人争辩说,许多专利所包含的信息在其他任何地方都没有发布,这使得IP格局成为获取关注领域新见解的理想途径。

首先,通过研究通常在计算机程序或软件中发现的各种相关数据,文档和信息,来获取专利前景。然后,使用真正的人类智能通过将大批信息分类并筛选出不相关的数据来缩小大批信息的范围。然后,对先前分类的组进行进一步检查,以找到最重要和最有用的材料。从风景中获得的最佳见解是在硬数据和数据讲述的故事之间找到平衡的,这意味着人与人之间的接触对于确保高质量的结果至关重要。

从专利角度看机器学习的前景

根据行业和关注点的不同,专利态势可以有很大的不同,这使得进行针对您需求的态势研究变得尤为重要。从机器学习专利的概况来看,微软和Alphabet目前拥有最高(最高质量)的专利。但是,数据还表明,在这个快速发展的技术领域中,领导职位的变化非常快。特别是中国公司是该领域申请最多的公司之一,尽管如此,他们的专利在影响力和质量方面都不足。

与分析 LexisNexis PatentSight IP分析平台 使用由定义的技术领域 ip搜索是瑞士联邦知识产权局的商业专利搜索服务提供商,它从专利的角度详细介绍了机器学习领域。

关于专利申请,在过去的二十年中,该领域取得了巨大的发展。从2000开始,应用程序的数量开始增加,但是增长率从2010左右开始加速,而且这种情况不太可能达到顶峰。这些专利中有一半以上属于IPC子类别,分别为G06F(电子数字数据处理),G06N(基于特定计算模型的计算机系统)和G06K(数据识别;数据呈现;记录载体处理记录载体)。

按首次提交年份划分的机器学习专利的投资组合规模

按首次提交年份划分的机器学习专利的投资组合规模

毫不奇怪,科技公司处在繁荣的最前沿。但是,近年来,第一批申报人中有很大一部分来自中国。在2016的顶级20机器学习专利申请者中,大多数是中国公司或机构。

2016中机器学习的前20名排名第一的提交者

2016中机器学习的前20名排名第一的提交者

但是,在检查排名靠前的20专利拥有者时,情况有所不同,证明孤立的数据不像看起来那样清晰。当寻求创建/开发整个景观时,必须相互比较多个视角。下表列出了基于Patent Asset IndexTM的机器学习领域的领先公司(衡量企业,特定业务领域或整个技术领域的创新实力的指标)以及总投资组合的规模。显而易见的是,中国企业的流失,只有百度(除百度)消失了。因此,在中国备案活动频发的背后,似乎缺乏素质。

通过专利资产指数衡量,机器学习中排名前20的所有者具有最高的质量实力

通过专利资产指数衡量,机器学习中排名前20的所有者具有最高的质量实力

但是,在查看每家公司在专利市场中的总份额时,大多数领域的发展速度都超过了它。微软和Alphabet绝对值都表现出强劲的增长,但是从相对增长的角度来看,只有Alphabet可以增加其领域的份额。其他正在扩大份额的著名公司包括IBM和Intel。

排名前10的所有人的所有机器学习专利的专利资产指数份额

前10名所有者的所有机器学习专利的专利资产指数T的份额

在引用Alphabet在该领域的专利方面,微软,高通,Facebook,亚马逊和三星等众多知名企业都引用了谷歌母公司所做的工作。因此,尽管微软目前处于领导地位,但Alphabet是关注的主要公司。

也就是说,即使Microsoft和Alphabet也各自占据不到5%的份额,而接下来的八名领先玩家则各自占据1%和2%之间的份额。换句话说,机器学习领域仍处于新生阶段,我们离顶级10公司领先于任何其他公司的情况还差得很远。由于将任何景观作为特定时间点的快照,因此如果要用作参考或将其视为顾问,则必须连续监视所有景观的准确性。因此,在这个利润丰厚,竞争激烈的领域,尤其是来自中国竞争者的竞争中,领先者的地位发生了巨大变化,或者新挑战者的崛起。

您想了解更多关于 PatentSight 商业智能的知识吗?

请填写以下表格。我们会和您联系,为您安排网络会议。

我们希望了解您,并向您展示一些知识产权领域的宝贵见解:

• 让我们谈谈您当前在知识产权分析中的优先事项

• 获得专利组合的外部视图

• 了解别人如何看待您,并从新的角度审视您的市场伙伴

IP Landscape for Machine Learning Patents

Jun 23, 2020

IP Landscape for machine learning

What is an IP Landscape?

An intellectual property landscape is a thorough overview of current patents and practices in any technical space. By providing references, documentation, and a holistic view, an IP landscape can show potential for legal validity and inform strategy for design and production of undeveloped products. In short, a patent landscape is a map of everything competing in your area of focus and the current relationships in the field.

The patent landscape can provide a competitive analysis and uncover “white space”, opportunities or unfilled gaps in the current market. Looking at the applicable landscape in the early stages of product development can reveal weaknesses of competitors, advantages you possess, and strongholds or key players that you don’t want to challenge. Detailed examination of the existing scene provides insight into what differentiates your product, establishing focused marketing and transparent communication with investors. This research can also expose what methods have proved valuable and what strategies need adjustment, saving you from known blunders. It is argued that many patents contain information that is not published anywhere else, making an IP landscape the perfect way to obtain new insights in the area of focus.

Pulling a patent landscape starts by looking into a wide variety of relevant data, documents, and information, often found with computer programs or software. Then, real human intelligence is used to narrow down bulk information by sorting it into groups and filtering out irrelevant data. The previously sorted groups are then further examined to find the most important and informative material. The best insight from landscapes is found in the balance of hard data and the story the data tells, meaning a human touch is vital to ensure quality outcomes.

The landscape of machine learning from a patent perspective

Depending on the industry and focus, patent landscape can differ widely, making it all the more important to do landscape research specific to your needs.  A look at the machine learning patent landscape shows that Microsoft and Alphabet currently hold the most – and highest quality – patents. However, the data also shows that leadership positions can change very quickly in this rapidly developing technology field. In particular Chinese companies are among the most prolific filers in this space, nevertheless their patents fall short in terms of impact and quality.

An analysis with LexisNexis PatentSight IP analytics platform using technology fields defined by ip-search, a commercial patent search service provider of the Swiss Federal Institute of Intellectual Property, provides a detailed look at the machine learning landscape from a patent perspective.

With regards to patent filings the field has seen a tremendous growth over the last two decades. From 2000 the number of applications began to pick up, but the rate of growth accelerated from around 2010 and it is unlikely that this has peaked. Over half of all these patents fall under IPC subclasses G06F (Electrical digital data processing), G06N (Computer systems based on specific computational models) and G06K (Recognition of data; presentation of data; record carriers’ handling record carriers).

Portfolio Size of Machine Learning Patents by Year of First Filing

Portfolio Size of Machine Learning Patents by Year of First Filing

Unsurprisingly, tech companies are at the forefront of the boom. However, in recent years a large proportion of the first filers have originated from China; among the top 20 machine learning patent filers of 2016, the majority were Chinese companies or institutions.

Top 20 first filers in machine learning in 2016

Top 20 first filers in machine learning in 2016

However, a different picture emerges when examining the top 20 patent owners, proving that isolated data is not as clear cut as it appears. When looking to create/develop the full landscape, multiple perspectives must be analyzed against each other.  The table below lists the leading companies in machine learning based on Patent Asset IndexTM – a measure for the innovative strength of an enterprise, a specific business area, or an entire technology field – as well as total portfolio size. What is immediately apparent is the drop-off in Chinese companies, with all but one – Baidu – disappearing. So, behind the flurry of Chinese filing activity, there appears to be a lack of quality.

Top 20 owners in Machine Learning with highest qualitative strength measured by Patent Asset Index

Top 20 owners in Machine Learning with highest qualitative strength measured by Patent Asset Index

However, when looking at each company’s total share of the patent market, most are being outpaced by the rate of development of the technology field. Both Microsoft and Alphabet are exhibiting strong growth in absolute terms, but when looking at relative growth, it is only Alphabet that is increasing its share of the field. Other notable names that are growing their share include IBM and Intel.

Share of Patent Asset Index of all machine learning patents for top 10 owners

Share of Patent Asset IndexT of all Machine Learning Patents for Top 10 Owners

In terms of those citing Alphabet’s patents in this field, a significant number of established players – such as Microsoft, Qualcomm, Facebook, Amazon and Samsung – make reference to work done by Google’s parent company. So, while Microsoft currently leads the pack, Alphabet is the main company to keep an eye on.

That said, even Microsoft and Alphabet each take less than a 5% share of the field, while the next eight leading players each take between 1% and 2%. In other words, the machine learning field is still relatively nascent and we are far away from a situation where the top 10 companies are way ahead of anyone else. Because any landscape is taken as a snapshot at a specific point in time, all landscapes must be continually monitored for accuracy if they are to be used as a reference or seen as an advisor. Thus, we could yet see a dramatic shift in the positions of the leading players or the rise of new challengers in this highly lucrative and competitive space, especially from Chinese contenders.

Would you like to get more insights into PatentSight Business Intelligence?

Please fill out the following form. We will get in touch with you to arrange an appointment for a webmeeting.

We would love to get to know you and show you some invaluable insights into the IP landscape:

• Let’s have a conversation about your current priorities in IP analytics

• Get an external view on your portfolio

• Learn how others see you and survey your market companions from a new perspective